First Stage

Contestants must play a free selection of pieces (published pieces only), including at least one etude. Duration of entire performance: no longer than 20 minutes.

Second Stage

Contestants must play both (1) and (2). Duration of entire performance: no longer than 40 minutes. The performance order of the pieces can be determined by the contestant.

  • (1) Two or more pieces (published pieces only) composed in two or more periods by the following Classical, Romantic, Modern and Contemporary composers. The pieces chosen for the First Stage must be excluded.

    1. Classical:
      Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven
    2. Romantic:
      Schubert, Mendelssohn, Chopin, Schumann, Liszt, Franck, Brahms, Saint-Saëns, Tchaikovsky and Grieg
    3. Modern and Contemporary:
      Faure, Debussy, Scriabin, Rachmaninov, Schönberg, Ravel, Bartok, Poulenc, Messiaen, Webern, Berg, Prokofiev, Shostakovich, Toru Takemitsu, Akira Miyoshi, Michio Mamiya and Akio Yashiro
  • (2) A new work composed by a Japanese composer (KAWASHIMA Motoharu) for the 11th Hamamatsu International Piano Competition (duration: about 5-7 minutes).
    The score of the new work will be sent to each contestant three months before the Competition. This work must not be performed in public before the Competition.

Third Stage

Contestants must play both (1) and (2). Duration of entire performance: no longer than 70 minutes. The performance order of (1) and (2) can be determined by the contestant. Contestants may be asked to submit their scores after the announcement of the results of the Second Stage.

  • (1) Chamber music
    Contestants must play either (a) or (b) with the string musicians appointed by the Secretariat. The score for the performance must be the Bärenreiter edition, and repetition must be omitted.
    Mozart String musicians
    (a) Piano Quartet No.1 in g minor, K.478
    (b) Piano Quartet No.2 in E flat major, K.493
    Violin: URUSHIHARA Keiko, KAWADA Tomoko
    Viola: SUZUKI Yasuhiro, SUDA Sachiko
    Cello: MUKOYAMA Kaeko, YAMAMOTO Hiroyasu
  • (2) Solo recital with free choice of pieces, excluding those chosen for the First and Second Stages.

Final Stage

: The Tokyo Symphony Orchestra

Contestants must choose one of the following concertos to be played with the Tokyo Symphony Orchestra:

Beethoven Concerto No.1 in C major, op.15
Concerto No.2 in B flat major, op.19
Concerto No.3 in c minor, op.37
Concerto No.4 in G major, op.58
Concerto No.5 in E flat major, op.73 “Emperor”
Chopin Concerto No.1 in e minor, op.11
Concerto No.2 in f minor, op.21
Schumann Concerto in a minor, op.54
Liszt Concerto No.1 in E flat major, S.124
Concerto No.2 in A major, S.125
Brahms Concerto No.1 in d minor, op.15
Concerto No.2 in B flat major, op.83
Saint-Saëns Concerto No.2 in g minor, op.22
Concerto No.4 in c minor, op.44
Concerto No.5 in F major, op.103 “Egyptique”
Tchaikovsky Concerto No.1 in b flat minor, op.23
Grieg Concerto in a minor, op.16
Rachmaninov Concerto No.1 in f sharp minor, op.1 (revised)
Concerto No.2 in c minor, op.18
Concerto No.3 in d minor, op.30
Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini, op.43
Ravel Concerto G major
Piano Concerto for the Left Hand
Bartok Concerto No.1
Concerto No.3
Prokofiev Concerto No.2 in g minor, op.16
Concerto No.3 in C major, op.26
  • 1. Composers, titles, keys and opus numbers of performance pieces (and, for the preliminary stages, movement(s) and duration of performance of the pieces) must be clearly indicated on “My page”.
  • 2. All the pieces in the repertoire except the chamber music must be performed from memory and must be performed in their entirety, unless otherwise specified by the Jury.
  • 3. Specified performance times must be strictly observed. Performances which exceed the specified time limit may be interrupted by the Jury.
  • 4. Changes in the submitted repertoire will be permitted only if such a change is notified to the Secretariat via email no later than August 31, 2021.