Event Information

“Hama-Con-Plex” World Premiere Showcase

〈 委嘱作品世界初演大会 〉Hama-Con-Plexショーケース

  • KAWASHIMA Motoharu, Composer

This work, commissioned by the 11th Hamamatsu International Piano Competition (nicknamed “Hama-Con” in Japan) and published by Edition Peters UK, should have been the subject of the second stage of the Competition. However, due to the cancellation of the competition, the work is to be premiered by the interested applicants of the Competition in the “Hama-Con-Plex World Premiere Showcase”, a webcast event during the Hamamatsu International Piano Festival 2021. As for its stage premiere, Can Cakmur presented it in his recital on 7 November.

The work is based on fragments of the following ten most frequently performed piano concertos at the finals of the last ten Hamamatsu Competition, provided more than one work by the same composer are ranked higher, only one is retained.

  • A) Tchaikovsky / No.1
  • B) Liszt / No.1
  • C) Chopin / No.1
  • D) Schumann
  • E) Brahms / No.1
  • F) Mozart / No.20
  • G) Beethoven / No.5
  • H) Prokofiev / No.3
  • I) Rachmaninov / No.2
  • J) Ravel / G major

The fragments extracted in the work are limited to the parts where two hands form a single idiom, not including any melody-accompaniment structure or contrapuntal content. Thus, they do not necessarily represent the most prominent parts of those concertos.

Each fragment is developed in a contemporary way while retaining the pianism of the original. It progressively becomes shorter and eventually gets fractionated over the course of several rounds. After a part requiring a rapid change of musical ideas, each player then enters an unprecedented part, the first for the “Hama-Con’s commissioned works - Composing a musical structure on his/her own. The improvisation part will allow the use of musical materials already used, as well as variations or other fragments of those concertos with random order.

Then finally, while Tchaikovsky's chords in three registers, low, middle and high, are played in D-flat major as in the original, the previous fragments are inserted into them. As the music becomes slow and subsides, each player is again required to compose other fragments from the above concertos on his/her own.

In addition to perform each concerto, players are expected to display their contemporary sense of switching musical ideas spontaneously and ability of composing their own improvisations. It is actually the culmination of the Hamamatsu Competition to date while suggesting a new vision content-wise. You can expect a concerto performance with a totally different approach towards the end by respective players.

この作品は、第11 回浜松国際ピアノコンクールの委嘱により作曲され、ペータース社より出版、本来は第2 次予選課題曲となるはずでしたが、コンクールは中止となり、浜松国際ピアノ・フェスティバル2021 の中のWeb 配信イべント、<委嘱作品世界初演大会>「Hama-Con-Plex」ショーケースの中で、コンクール応募者のうちの希望者により初演される形となりました。また、同フェスティバルにおける1 1 月7 日のジャン・チャクムルさんによるリサイタルが、舞台初演の場となります。
作品は、これまでに開催されてきた全10 回の浜松国際ピアノコンクール(浜コン)本選にて演奏されたピアノ協奏曲のうち、上演回数が多い次の10 曲(ただし同じ作曲家の曲が複数上位にある場合は、より上位の1 曲に限定)の楽想に基づいています。

  • A)チャイコフスキー/第1 番
  • B)リスト/第1 番
  • C)ショパン/第1 番
  • D)シューマン
  • E)プラームス/第1 番
  • F)モーツアルト/第20 番
  • G)べートーヴェン/第5 番
  • H)プロコフィエフ/第3 番
  • I)ラフマニノフ/第2 番
  • J)ラヴェル/ト長調

使用されている楽想は、旋律と伴奏の関係をなすものや対位法的なものを含まず、両手で一つの音型となっているものに限定しているため、必ずしも各曲の著名な部分とは限りません。それぞれ、原曲のピアニズムを維持した状態で現代的に展開していき、10 の部分が示されると、何巡もしていくうちにやがて断片化していきます。急速に楽想を転換しなければならない部分を経て、これまでの課題曲にはない「コンテスタント自らが構成する部分」に入ります。順番がランダムになり、これまでの素材に加えてその変形、あるいは上記の作品の他の断片の使用も認められた即興演奏部分となるのです。
最後は、チャイコフスキーの低中高3 音域の和音が原曲通り変ニ長調の和音で奏でられる中、これまでの断片がその中に挿入されます。減速、沈静化していく中で、ここでも上記の作品の他の断片の使用を「コンテスタント自らが構成」します。


  • Prize for the Best Performance
    of “Hama-Con-Plex”


Shangrong FENG

  • Profile


  • Profile

Mattia FUSI

  • Profile


  • Profile

GONDA Teruaki

  • Profile


  • Profile

IIJIMA Satoshi

  • Profile

LIN Hao Wei

  • Profile


  • Profile